Avoid work being redone because you’ve lost your original versions! Version control means that you will never again lose a good idea because someone has overwritten your file edits. You can always easily find out who’s made what changes to your content – and why.
When two or more employees work with the same document, it’s easy to replace a new document version with an old one and end up losing two weeks of hard work. Version control gives your team a project-wide “undo-redo” button; any mistake is easily rolled back.
With version control, if Jessica works with ourcoolsiteheader.psd – Emily cannot change the file until Jessica completes her part of the work. Emily will be notified immediatelly, by email, once Jessica is done.
To check out files, navigate to “Check Out” on the context menu.
Note: Files will be checked out automatically if you try to edit the document by using the “Edit With” menu option.
Audit Item Changes
Any changes to the document or file are tracked and can be viewed by the “Item Audit History” option. You will be able to see what changes were made, by whom, and at what time they occurred.
Compare versions and rollback to an older or corrected revision, at any time.
A special “Owner” tag allows anyone to quickly see who checked out a document.
Please note that Version Control behaves differently for Network and Local Catalogs:
Check Out: A file will be marked as Checked Out (and locked for others) on a server and the file copy will be downloaded to your local computer.
Check In: A local file copy will be uploaded to the server. Files on a server will be marked as Checked In (and unlocked for others).
Check Out: A current file version will be backed up in the ~Versions folder at the same location as the original file. The file will be marked as Checked Out
Check In: A file will be marked as Checked In.